Ocean Climate Change

Igor Yashayaev (Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Dartmouth, NS )
June, 2006

Abstract

During the last several decades, the Arctic Ocean has experienced striking large-scale changes in oceanic and sea-ice properties. Recent studies suggest that this region is a highly variable system undergoing major regime shifts at time scales from several years to decades. The ongoing research tends to link these climate shifts to the changing atmospheric dynamics and/or to variations in Arctic-Subarctic oceanic and sea-ice fluxes. Key signatures of Arctic climate change include an increased heat flux into the Arctic Ocean and a significant reduction in thickness and extent of the Arctic perennial sea-ice cover. Some global climate models predict an 80% decrease of the Arctic ice pack within the next 50 years or so.


Arctic ice pack
(photo: Claire Parkinson)

On the other hand, analyses based on both observations and models suggest at least two regimes in the arctic atmospheric circulation (cyclonic versus anticyclonic) directly influencing sea-ice conditions and the distribution and fluxes of freshwater and Atlantic Water. Whether these regimes result primarily from an oscillatory mode (i.e. Arctic Oscillation) typical of the North Polar Vortex, or from a coupling with lower latitudes (i.e. NAO) similar to the southern hemisphere ENSO, or are they part of a trend related to global changes, is yet to be determined.

The subpolar gyre of the North Atlantic has also undergone dramatic changes during the past five decades. In particular, between the early 1970s and the mid 1990s the entire water column of the subpolar gyre experienced significant freshening and cooling. The magnitude of this freshening was an equivalent to mixing an extra 4 meters of fresh water over the whole gyre. A significant fraction of this change arose from an extreme development of the winter convection in the Labrador Sea in the early 1990s. In addition, based on hydrographic data and direct current measurements, important changes have been reported regarding the North Atlantic Current flow in the subpolar basins and into the Nordic Seas as well as the southward flux of fresh and cold waters across the Greenland-Scotland Ridge.

The observed changes in the heat and freshwater content in the subpolar North Atlantic can be considered a result of the combined local atmospheric forcing and remote advective forcing traced back to its source in the Arctic Ocean and the Nordic Seas. In particular, changes in the ocean intermediate layers were triggered by high wintertime surface heat losses and subsequent exceptionally deep convection in the Labrador Sea. This mixing happened soon after the arrival to the Labrador Sea of anomalously large volume of fresh water from the Arctic Ocean (during the 1980s and early 1990s). The combination of strong local forcing and advective supply of fresh water resulted in one of the largest change ever seen in the ocean - freshening of the subpolar gyre.

Somewhat different tendency of long term temperature and salinity variability can be seen in the subtropical regions, where the upper ocean has recently become warmer and saltier. The warming of the upper layers accompanied with increasing evaporation (causing in its turn in increasing salinity) provides more favourable conditions for hurricane development and intensification. The higher evaporation in the subtropics was also likely a reason of higher transport of moisture to the higher latitudes, resulted in extreme precipitation in the Atlantic Canada.


Hurricane
(photo: NASA)

Although some of these statements are still hypothetical, the ocean studies conducted in the recent years have already shown how important is the knowledge of the ocean circulation and variability for the understanding of the climate change on the entire Planet.

Biography

Igor Yashayaev has graduated from Geography faculty of the Moscow State University in 1988. Between 1988 and 1995, he worked and obtained PhD in State Oceanographic Institute (Moscow, Russia) and P.P.Shirshov Institute of Oceanology (Moscow, Russia). Since 1995, he is associated with Bedford Institute of Oceanography (as a visitor, post-doctoral fellow, contractor, and presently, research scientist). Igor has participated in and led numerous oceanographic expeditions. He's first steps in the ocean sciences (PhD) dealt with sea surface temperature variability in the North Atlantic on the weekly-to-decadal scales, with participation in scientific expeditions he's scientific interests became wider and until present he is involved in collection, analyses and interpretation of hydrographic (temperature, salinity, density, flow field) measurements. The recent major works (two Nature papers) reveal some immense changes in salinity in the North Atlantic suggesting significant shifts in the planetary climate system. As a part of he's organizing activity, he convene and chair sessions at the large geosciences conferences (EGU, AGU) and initiated a special issue in Progress Oceanography on the oceanic changes in heat and fresh water budget and transports.

Ocean Climate Change

Igor Yashayaev (Institut océanographique de Bedford, Dartmouth, N.-É.)
juin, 2006

Résumé

Durant les dernières décennies, l'Océan Arctique a connu d'important changement à grande échelle dans les propriétés océaniques et celles des glaces de mer. De récentes études suggèrent que cette région est un système grandement variable sous le choc de mutations majeures à des taux variants entre quelques années et quelques décennies. La recherche en cours a tendance à lier ces changements climatiques aux dynamiques atmosphériques changeantes et/ou aux variations dans les courants océaniques et glaces de mer arctiques-subarctiques. Un indicateur clé du changement climatique dans l'Arctique est une réduction importante dans l'épaisseur et l'étendue des couvertures glaciaires saisonnières. Certains modèles climatiques globaux prédisent une réduction de la banquise arctique de 80% dans les prochains 50 ans.


La banquise arctique
(photo: Claire Parkinson)

Toutefois, des analyses basées à la fois sur les observations et les modèles suggèrent aux moins deux régimes dans la circulation atmosphérique arctique (cyclonique versus anticyclonique) qui influencent directement la condition des glaces de mer, ainsi que la distribution et les courants d'eau douce et d'eau atlantique. Nous n'avons pas encore déterminé si ces régimes sont principalement le résultat d'un mode oscillatoire typique du tourbillon polaire arctique (i.e. l'oscillation arctique), ou d'une interaction avec les plus basses latitudes similaire à l'ENSO de l'hémisphère sud (i.e. NAO), ou encore parce qu'ils font partie d'une tendance reliée aux changements globaux.

Le tourbillon subpolaire de l'Atlantique Nord a aussi connu des changements dramatiques dans les cinq dernières décennies. En particulier, entre le début des années 1970 et la moitié des années 1990, l'entière colonne d'eau du tourbillon subpolaire connu un important refroidissement et adoucissement. La magnitude de cet adoucissement est l'équivalent de verser quatre mètres d'eau douce de plus sur toute l'étendue du tourbillon subpolaire. Une fraction significative de ce changement est survenue à cause d'un développement extrême de la convection hivernale dans la Mer du Labrador au début des 1990. De plus, basé sur les données hydrographiques et les mesures directes courantes, des changements importants ont été rapportés à propos du courant de l'Atlantique Nord dans les bassins subpolaires et dans les mers nordiques, ainsi que le courant d'eaux douces et froides vers le sud, le long de la dorsale Groenland-Écosse.

Les changements observés dans la température et le contenu d'eau douce de l'Atlantique Nord subpolaire peuvent être considérés le résultat d'une combinaison de forçage atmosphérique local et de forçage par advection à distance retracée à leur source dans l'Océan Arctique et les mers nordiques. En particulier, les changements dans les couches intermédiaires de l'océan ont été causés par d'importantes pertes de chaleur de surface dans la saison hivernale, et par une subséquente, particulièrement profonde, convection dans la Mer du Labrador. Ce mélange est survenu très tôt après l'arrivée d'un volume anormalement important d'eau douce dans la Mer du Labrador en provenance de l'Océan Arctique (durant les années 1980 et le début des années 1990). La combinaison de forçage local et d'approvisionnement en eau douce par advection cause ainsi un des changements les plus importants portés à l'océan : l'adoucissement du tourbillon subpolaire.

La tendance quelque peu différente de température à long terme et de salinité variable peut être observée dans les régions subtropicales, où la couche supérieure de l'océan est récemment devenue plus chaude et plus salée. Le réchauffement de ces couches supérieures, accompagné d'une évaporation accrue (causant à son tour une salinité accrue), crée des conditions plus favorables au développement et à l'intensification des ouragans. Des précipitations extrêmes au Canada atlantique sont le résultat de cette évaporation accrue dans les régions subtropicales, sensiblement une des causes du plus important transport d'humidité à des latitudes plus élevées.


Ouragon
(photo: NASA)

Bien que certains énoncés avancés ci-haut sont encore hypothétiques, les études océaniques des dernières années ont déjà démontré l'importance de bien connaître la circulation et la variabilité océaniques dans la compréhension du changement climatique sur la planète entière.

Biographie

 Igor Yashayaev reçoit son diplôme de la Faculté de Géographie de l'Université de Moscou en 1988. Entre 1988 et 1995, il travaille et obtient son doctorat de l'Institut océanographique (Moscou, Russie) et de l'Institut océanologique P.P. Shirshov (Moscou, Russie). Depuis 1995, il est associé à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford (en tant que visiteur, chercheur-boursier, entrepreneur, et présentement, il occupe le poste de chercheur). Igor a été participant et directeur de plusieurs expéditions océanographiques. Ses premiers pas dans le domaine des sciences de l'océan (son Ph.D.) traitent de la viabilité des températures de la surface marine dans l'Atlantique Nord à des échelles hebdomadaires et décennales. Avec sa participation dans des expéditions scientifiques, ses intérêts scientifiques s'élargissent, et il est présentement impliqué dans la cueillette, l'analyse et l'interprétation de mesures hydrographiques (température, salinité, densité, champs de courant). Ses récents écrits (deux importants articles dans Nature) révèlent d'immenses changements dans la salinité de l'Atlantique Nord, suggérant des mutations importantes dans le système climatique terrestre. Sur le plan organisationnel, il a organisé et dirigé plusieurs sessions lors de grandes conférences géoscientifiques (EGU, AGU) et est à l'origine d'un numéro spécial de Progress Oceanography sur les changements océaniques au niveau de la température et de l'approvisionnement en eau douce.