Water area


Visit the current theme

 

L'eau, un
don à
honorer et à
protéger, un
symbole de
non-violence

[Version
français
]

 

 

Jan Slakov is
president of
Enviro-Clare. 
She also works
with the peace
movement and is
working to see
that the
anti-corporate
globalization,
peace and
environmental
movements learn
from each other
and work well
together. 
Contact info:
Box 35,
Weymouth,
Nova Scotia, CA
B0W 3T0 
(902) 837-4980
email

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To sign on to the Cochabamba Declaration, click here.

Water, a Gift to Honour
& Protect, a Symbol of
Nonviolence


Jan Slakov

Enviro-Clare, president

August 2001

 

s Maude Barlow pointed out in her article on water ethics, "Global consumption of water is doubling every 20 years, more than twice the rate of human population growth." 1 The push to privatize water supplies is surely linked to the increasing demands for and destruction of safe drinking water.


(photo taken at Eskasoni, N.B.,  NBEN)

Some say that it makes sense to privatize water supplies so people will be less wasteful. But this argument simply doesn't hold water :) - look at how much fossil fuel gets wasted even though we pay for it. Indian scientist, feminist and respected activist Vandana Shiva has pointed out that, "the moment you let the market determine the situation, all that will happen is that the swimming pool of the rich will get a higher priority over the drinking water of the poor." 2 While privatization is a bad idea, intelligent pricing of water can help prevent it from being wasted.

Clearly, we humans need to respect and value water more, and find ways to pollute it less and to protect the earth's fragile supplies of fresh water. We need to become conscious of where our water comes from and where it goes once we have used it. To do this, it is best to make decisions about water on a local scale and in a democratic manner.

This conclusion was reached by people in Bolivia, who successfully revolted against the privatization of their water. Here is their declaration:

 

The Cochabamba Declaration:

"For the right to life, for the respect of nature and the uses and traditions of our ancestors and our peoples, for all time the following shall be declared as inviolable rights with regard to the uses of water given us by the earth:

1) Water belongs to the earth and all species and is sacred to life, therefore, the world's water must be conserved, reclaimed and protected for all future generations and its natural patterns respected.

2) Water is a fundamental human right and a public trust to be guarded by all levels of government, therefore, it should not be commodified, privatized or traded for commercial purposes. These rights must be enshrined at all levels of government. In particular, an international treaty must ensure these principles are noncontrovertible.

3) Water is best protected by local communities and citizens who must be respected as equal partners with governments in the protection and regulation of water. Peoples of the earth are the only vehicle to promote earth democracy and save water." 3

 

Water, so essential to life, is symbolic of all the gifts of the earth, gifts that we arrogantly call "natural resources" as if nature were there to provide us with the resources for our ends.

Water has also been seen as a symbol of active nonviolence. Len Desroches' marvelous book on "anger, fear, power, work, sexuality, community - and the spirituality and practice of nonviolence" is entitled Allow the Water.

Last April, at the Quebec FTAA summit protest, I was invited to join a group which calls itself "The Living River" and which tries to bring a constructive, nonviolent energy to such protests. This group, one of whose leaders is the well-known novelist and activist Starhawk, brought with it copies of the Cochabamba declaration to present to the summit, if we had been successful in getting to that meeting. As can be imagined, we did not make it to the summit, for the fence and police, under orders to violate even basic rights, prevented that. I was lucky enough to be with "The Living River" when it met up against a police blockade at the end of a dead end in old Quebec. The police were ready to fire their tear gas on us, but, probably because they could see we were organized to behave non-violently, they held off. Someone in our group read out the declaration to the police and one woman tried to present it to an officer. He replied through clenched teeth, "We can't take it." I hope he and other members of the force are rethinking whether or not they intend to obey the kinds of orders they are under at these summits.


(photo: Living River Group) 

=========
The Sierra River
=========


I believe that our movement must have as one of its goals: to convince and communicate with all people, even those who may appear to be our "enemies", such as the police. It is important that we articulate not only what we are AGAINST, but what we are FOR. For the "Living River" at the FTAA summit, the Cochabamba Declaration represented what we were struggling for.

If all we manage to do is rail out against something, our protest will create a kind of vacuum which will only be able to suck in what already exists, in other words, essentially the same thing which we are supposedly opposed to. As we create something new, something more appropriate, then we can legitimately push aside the old, because it will truly be replaced by something better.

Nonviolence is not just something we bring out for special occasions, like protests. It is a way of life and it can infuse our whole life with meaning and make even everyday events become part of the struggle, part of what we hope is a joyous struggle. That is why "nonviolence" is a rather inadequate term. Nonviolence is not just the absence of violence, it is the presence of caring, commitment and maybe the faith that simply living, as we feel it is right and well to live, is actually more important than "winning" the struggle. I like the way Len Desroches describes it. He used the word "dunamis" or inner spiritual power (as opposed to "exousia", an external, socially sanctioned power or authority).

He wrote: "The Nuremburg principles re-stated that every single person has dunamis - inner spiritual power to act in the face of legal state-sanctioned evil." (p. 62)

"Dunamis shapes and nourishes our bodies and the One Body. As we have the power to not allow the water to flow, so too can we block our own inner current - this spring deep inside us. Allow it to flow. Even though, like water, this inner source of life and power is sometimes barely noticeable, it is nevertheless already there. Allow the water!"
(p. 475)4


1. BLUE GOLD: THE GLOBAL WATER CRISIS AND THE COMMODIFICATION OF THE WORLD'S WATER SUPPLY
By Maude Barlow, Chair, IFG (International Forum on Globalization) Committee on the Globalization of Water, National Chair, Council of Canadians. June 1999
www.ifg.org/bgsummary.html

2. InterPress Service
DEVELOPMENT: Poorest Countries Call For Right to Water
By Gareth Harding BRUSSELS, June 12 (IPS) -

3. quoted in "The Bridge At Midnight Trembles: My Story of Quebec City"
by Starhawk <stella@mcn.org>

4. Allow the Water. To order contact Len Desroches,
407 Bleeker St., Toronto, ON M4X 1W2
Telephone: (416) 975-4897  Fax: (416) 515-1515.

Water area


Visit the current theme

 

Water, a Gift
to Honour &
Protect, a
Symbol of
Nonviolence

[English
version
]

 

 

Jan Slakov est
présidente
d'Enviro-Clare.
Elle travaille
également avec
des groupes
pacifistes et un
effort actuel vise à
faciliter l'échange
et la compréhen-
sion entre les
mouvements
anti-corporatiste,
pacifiste et
environnemental.
Coordonnées :
CP 35, Weymouth
N.-E. CA
B0W 3T0
(902) 837-4980
Courriel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour ouvrir las session de la Déclaration de Cochabamba, cliquez ici.

L'eau, un don à honorer
et à protéger, un symbole
de non-violence

Jan Slakov
Enviro-Clare, présidente
Août 2001

 

omme Maude Barlow l'a fait remarquer dans son article sur l'éthique et l'eau 1: "La consommation de l'eau double à tous les 20 ans, taux plus de deux fois plus élevé que celui de la croissance de la population humaine". Les efforts pour privatiser l'eau sont, sans doute, reliés à cette demande et à la destruction croissante des sources d'eau potable.


(photo: Eskasoni, N.-B.,  RENB)

Certains disent que, pour décourager le gaspillage de l'eau, il serait logique de la privatiser. Mais cette idée ne tient pas debout; en effet, considérons comment on gaspille les combustibles fossiles même si on doit les payer. Et la scientifique indienne, féministe et militante respectée, Vandana Shiva a souligné: "Dès qu'on permet au marché de déterminer la situation, on verra comme résultat que la piscine des riches aura préséance sur l'eau à boire des pauvres". 2 Toutefois, si la privatisation est une mauvaise idée, une politique éclairée concernant le prix de l'eau pourrait contribuer à empêcher le gaspillage.

Évidemment, nous devons mieux respecter et valoriser l'eau tout en trouvant des moyens pour moins la polluer et pour mieux protéger les sources fragiles d'eau fraîche. Il faut devenir conscient d'où provient notre eau et où on l'envoie après qu'on s'en est servi; pour ce faire, il vaut mieux que les décisions concernant l'eau soient prises localement et d'une manière démocratique.

C'est d'ailleurs la conclusion à laquelle sont arrivés les gens de la Bolivie qui se sont soulevés avec succès contre la privatisation de leur eau. Voici leur déclaration :

Déclaration de Cochabamba

"Pour le droit à la vie, pour le respect de la nature et des us et coutumes de nos peuples, que dorénavant soient déclarés inviolables les droits concernant l'usage de l'eau qui nous ont été donnés par la terre :

1) L'eau appartient à la terre et à toutes les espèces et elle est vouée à la vie; les eaux du monde doivent donc être conservées, assainies et protégées pour toutes les générations futures et elles doivent être respectées dans leur état naturel.

2) L'accès à l'eau est un droit humain fondamental et c'est un devoir public qui doit être protégé par tous les niveaux de gouvernements. L'eau ne doit donc pas être marchandisée, privatisée ou échangée pour des fins de gain commercial. Ces droits doivent être sauvegardés par tous les niveaux de gouvernements. Un traité international doit, notamment, assurer que ces droits soient incontestables.

3) Ce sont les communautés et les citoyens de chaque région qui peuvent le mieux protéger l'eau et ils doivent être les partenaires à titre égal avec les gouvernements pour la protection et la réglementation de l'eau. Les peuples de la terre sont les seuls capables de promouvoir la démocratie et la sauvegarde de l'eau. 3

 

L'eau, si essentielle à la vie, symbolise tous les dons de la terre, dons que nous appelons avec arrogance "ressources naturelles" comme si la nature était là pour fournir ces ressources à nos seules fins.

L'eau a aussi été vue comme symbole de non-violence active. Le livre merveilleux de Len Desroches sur "la colère, la peur, le pouvoir, le travail, la sexualité, la communauté - et la spiritualité et la pratique de la non-violence" a pour titre Allow the Water (littéralement : "permettez l'eau"). 

Et, en avril dernier, à la manifestation à Québec contre la ZLÉA, on a invité mon groupe à se joindre au groupe qui s'appelle "The Living River/La rivière vivante", groupe qu'essaie d'apporter une énérgie constructive et non-violente à de telles manifestations. Ce groupe, dont une des leaders est l'écrivaine et militante bien connue Starhawk, avait apporté des copies de la Déclaration de Cochabamba à présenter au sommet, au cas où nous aurions eu du succès à nous introduire dans cette rencontre. Comme on peut l'imaginer, on n'a pas pu se rendre jusqu'à là, à cause de la clôture et de la police qui avait ordre d'aller même jusqu'à violer les droits fondamentaux. J'avais la chance d'être avec "La rivière vivante" quand elle a abouti à un mur de police dans une ruelle dans le vieux Québec. La police s'apprêtait à nous tirer dessus avec leur gaz lacrymogène mais, probablement parce qu'ils pouvaient voir que nous étions organisés pour garder un comportement nonviolent, ils se sont retenus. Quelqu'un dans notre groupe a lu la Déclaration à haute voix et une femme a tenté de la présenter à un officier. Il a répondu, les dents serrées, qu'il ne pouvait pas la prendre.... J'espère que lui, et d'autres membres des forces sont en train de repenser si, oui ou non, ils ont l'intention d'obéir aux ordres auxquels ils sont soumis à ce genre de sommet.


(photo: Living River Group) 

=========
La rivière Sierra
=========


Je crois que notre mouvement doit avoir, comme un de ses buts, depersuader et de communiquer avec tout le monde, même ceux qui semblent être nos ennemis, comme la police. Et il est très important que nous articulions non seulement ce à quoi nous nous OPPOSONS, mais aussi ce que nous APPUYONS. Pour "La rivière vivante" au sommet de la ZLÉA, la Déclaration de Cochabamba représentait ce que nous APPUYONS.

Si tous ce que nous réussissons à faire, c'est de nous enrager contre quelque chose, nos protestations créeront une sorte de vide qui ne pourra qu'attirer ce qui existe déjà, autrement dit, essentiellement la même chose que ce que nous essayons de vaincre. En créant quelque chose de nouveau, quelque chose de plus approprié, nous pourrons avec légitimité écarter le vieil ordre, parce qu'il sera remplacé avec quelque chose de meilleur.

La non-violence n'est pas simplement quelque chose que nous sortons pour des moments privilégiés, comme les actions de protestation. C'est une manière de vivre et elle peut donner une signification à toute notre vie et faire que même les événements quotidiens deviennent une partie de la lutte, une lutte que nous espérons joyeuse. C'est pour cela que le terme "non-violence" n'est pas vraiment à la hauteur. La non-violence n'est pas simplement l'absence de violence, c'est la présence de bienveillance, d'engagement et peut-être même la foi que le fait de vivre simplement comme nous pensons qu'il est bien de vivre est, en effet, plus important que de remporter la "victoire". J'aime la manière que Len Desroches la décrit. Il emploie le terme "dumanis" ou pouvoir spirituel intérieur (en opposition à "exousia", un pouvoir ou autorité externe, et socialement sanctionné).

Il a écrit : (traduction non autorisée) "Les principes de Nuremburg répètent que chaque personne possède dunamis - le pouvoir spirituel intérieur d'agir face au mal légalisé et sanctionné par l'état."

"Le dunamis nourit et moule notre corps et le Seul Corps. Tout comme nous avons le pouvoir d'empêcher l'eau de couler, nous pouvons également bloquer notre propre courant intérieur - cette source au fond de nous-mêmes. Qu'on la permette de couler. Même si, comme l'eau, cette source intérieure de vie et de pouvoir est à peine perceptible, elle existe déjà. Permettons à l'eau de couler!" 4

 

1. Barlow, Maude, Blue Gold: the Global Water Crisis and the Commodification of the World's Water Supply, International Forum on Globalisation,  juin 1999.
http://www.ifg.org/bgsummary.html

2. Harding, Gareth,
DEVELOPMENT, Poorest Countries Call For Right to Water
,
InterPress Service

3. Starhawk, <stella@mcn.org>
The Bridge At Midnight Trembles: My Story of Quebec City

4. Desroches, Len "Allow the Water".  Disponible en français bientôt.
Pour commander communiquer avec Len Desroches, 407 Bleeker St., Toronto, ON M4X 1W2  Téléphone : (416) 975-4897 Télécopie : (416) 515-1515.